Roberts Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

SLU Athletics Department News Release
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – November 19, 2013
HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana head football coach Ron Roberts has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, the Sports Network announced on Tuesday.
The Eddie Robinson Award, named for the late legendary Grambling coach, is awarded to the top coach in the Football Championship Subdivision. Voting will reflect only regular-season results and will be conducted by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries. The winner will be announced at The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation to be held Dec. 16 in Philadelphia.
In just his second season in Hammond, Roberts has led the No. 8/10 Lions (9-2, 6-0 Southland) to at least a share of its first conference championship since 1961 and its first-ever playoff berth. The Lions have won more games in Roberts’ season-plus at the helm of the program than in the previous three seasons combined and are 11-2 in Southland Conference play during his tenure.
Roberts is one of 20 finalists for the award and is joined among the group by fellow Southland Conference coach Matt Viator of McNeese State. Roberts has led his team to a 3-1 team record versus current nationally-ranked teams, including a pair of road victories. The Lions are currently on an eight-game winning streak and have won seven straight by double-digit margins.
Roberts and the Lions will look to claim sole possession of the Southland Conference title on Thursday at 6 p.m., when it hosts Nicholls State for the River Bell Classic. The game will be televised on tape delay by WHNO (Charter Channel 14 in the Hammond area) and streamed live on ESPN3. The game will also air on KSLU 90.9 FM, the flagship station of the Southeastern Sports Radio Network, as well as Northshore Broadcasting stations Kajun 107.1 FM and The Joint 104.7 FM. Fans can listen online at or on their smart phone using the TuneIn Radio app.
The 2013 Eddie Robinson Award candidates:
Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois
Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington
Craig Bohl, North Dakota State
Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern
Jack Cosgrove, Maine
Bruce Fowler, Furman
Jay Hopson, Alcorn State
Russ Huesman, Tennessee at Chattanooga
Bobby Lamb, Mercer
Ed Lamb, Southern Utah
Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary
Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina
Joe Moorhead, Fordham
Jim Parady, Marist
Buddy Pough, South Carolina State
Rod Reed, Tennessee State
Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana
Bob Surace, Princeton
Matt Viator, McNeese State
Eric Wolford, Youngstown State
- -


P.O. Box 698
Amite, LA 70422
Phone: 985-748-7156
Fax: 985-748-7104

Follow Us